Skip to content
NewGot a product? Test it with real Nigerians on 9jatesters
RANKED

Disco report cardQ1 2026

Nigeria’s electricity companies, graded by NERC’s own numbers.

Eleven distribution companies (Discos) own the last-mile grid. NERC reports billing and collection efficiency, the combined revenue-based ATC&C loss measure, and how many active customers have meters. Ranked compiles the Q1 2026 report into a single worst-first league. In Q1 2026, all 11 Discos missed their ATC&C targets.

Every figure from the NERC First Quarter 2026 Quarterly Report (Publication date not stated in the source report, Tables 6, 8, 9 & 18) · verified against the primary PDF on 8 September 2026

National ATC&C loss

37.4%

Active registered customers

12.4M

National metering rate

59.1%

Worst-performing Disco

KAEDC

The league · worst-first by ATC&C losses

ATC&C combines billing and collection losses in revenue terms. It is not a physical-energy loss or hours-of-supply measure. Lower means less revenue loss on this metric. The arrow compares against Q4 2025.

  • 01
    KAEDCKaduna Electricity Distribution Company
    Worst this quarter
    69.7%lost
    Kaduna, Kebbi, Sokoto, Zamfara▴ 0.2 pts vs Q4 2025target 18.2%

    Billing eff.

    66.2%

    Collection eff.

    45.8%

    Metering rate

    36.4%

    Customers

    548K

  • 02
    JEDCJos Electricity Distribution Company
    58.0%lost
    Plateau, Bauchi, Benue, Gombe▾ 6.8 pts vs Q4 2025target 20.8%

    Billing eff.

    71.9%

    Collection eff.

    58.4%

    Metering rate

    34.6%

    Customers

    822K

  • 03
    YEDCYola Electricity Distribution Company
    56.4%lost
    Adamawa, Borno, Taraba, Yobe▴ 3.6 pts vs Q4 2025target 29.0%

    Billing eff.

    59.1%

    Collection eff.

    73.8%

    Metering rate

    33.2%

    Customers

    512K

  • 04
    IBEDCIbadan Electricity Distribution Company
    48.1%lost
    Oyo, Ogun, Osun, Kwara▴ 5.6 pts vs Q4 2025target 17.5%

    Billing eff.

    69.1%

    Collection eff.

    75.1%

    Metering rate

    52.6%

    Customers

    2502K

  • 05
    KEDCOKano Electricity Distribution Company
    45.1%lost
    Kano, Katsina, Jigawa▴ 0.8 pts vs Q4 2025target 17.4%

    Billing eff.

    87.5%

    Collection eff.

    62.8%

    Metering rate

    35.4%

    Customers

    799K

  • 06
    EEDCEnugu Electricity Distribution Company
    42.7%lost
    Enugu, Ebonyi, Imo, Abia, Anambra▴ 4.1 pts vs Q4 2025target 18.1%

    Billing eff.

    81.3%

    Collection eff.

    70.5%

    Metering rate

    51.6%

    Customers

    1653K

  • 07
    BEDCBenin Electricity Distribution Company
    39.7%lost
    Edo, Delta, Ondo, Ekiti▾ 4.8 pts vs Q4 2025target 17.2%

    Billing eff.

    70.8%

    Collection eff.

    85.2%

    Metering rate

    58.0%

    Customers

    1098K

  • 08
    PHEDCPort Harcourt Electricity Distribution Company
    36.0%lost
    Rivers, Cross River, Akwa Ibom, Bayelsa▴ 3.0 pts vs Q4 2025target 16.7%

    Billing eff.

    78.8%

    Collection eff.

    81.2%

    Metering rate

    66.9%

    Customers

    1077K

  • 09
    AEDCAbuja Electricity Distribution Company
    31.9%lost
    FCT, Niger, Kogi, Nasarawa▴ 0.9 pts vs Q4 2025target 17.0%

    Billing eff.

    84.2%

    Collection eff.

    80.9%

    Metering rate

    79.8%

    Customers

    1372K

  • 10
    IKEDCIkeja Electricity Distribution Company
    24.6%lost
    Lagos (mainland north: Ikeja, Mushin, Agege, Oshodi, Shomolu)▴ 8.3 pts vs Q4 2025target 13.5%

    Billing eff.

    83.8%

    Collection eff.

    90.0%

    Metering rate

    88.0%

    Customers

    1338K

  • 11
    EKEDCEko Electricity Distribution Company
    Lowest loss this quarter
    20.2%lost
    Lagos (Island, Lekki, Apapa, Surulere, Ajeromi-Ifelodun)▴ 6.0 pts vs Q4 2025target 14.2%

    Billing eff.

    89.0%

    Collection eff.

    89.6%

    Metering rate

    88.5%

    Customers

    667K

How NERC measures Disco performance

The numbers, defined

ATC&C loss %
Aggregate Technical, Commercial and Collection losses, computed as [1 − (billing efficiency × collection efficiency)]. Power lost in the wires, power consumed but never billed, and bills issued but never collected. Since Q2 2025 NERC computes billing efficiency in naira terms, and from Q1 2026 the allowed tariff is VAT-adjusted.
Metering rate %
Share of active registered customers with a meter (vs estimated billing) as of 31 March 2026. This is a metering measure, not a measurement of supply hours or complaint rates.
Active registered customers
NERC’s post-April-2025 rebased count: customers vended or billed at least once in the last 12 months, rather than total connections. That is why these counts look lower than older “customer population” figures.
Why no “hours of supply” column?
NERC does not publish measured average supply hours per Disco. The service-band framework states committed minimums per feeder, not measured delivery. Rather than estimate, Ranked leaves the column out. When NERC publishes it, we’ll add it.

This page retains the dated Q1 2026 report. A later source check does not turn it into a newer reporting period. Customer complaint counts are excluded from this comparison. Lowest-loss EKEDC still missed its own ATC&C target. This comparison concerns ATC&C targets only, not a general service-quality verdict.

Sources and measurement notes

Retrieved and checked: . Transcription of NERC's published table cells; ordered by reported Q1 2026 ATC&C loss. Percentages are the regulator's printed values.

  • NERC First Quarter 2026 Quarterly Report

    Publication date: not stated for this edition. The original source does not state a publication date for this edition.

    Where to check: PDF p.40 / printed p.34, Table 6: billing efficiency, 2026/Q1 column; PDF p.42 / printed p.36, Table 8: collection efficiency, 2026/Q1 column; PDF p.45 / printed p.39, Table 9: MYTO targets and Q4 2025/Q1 2026 ATC&C losses; PDF p.64 / printed p.58, Table 18: active customers, metered customers and metering rates.

  • ATC&C is a revenue-based billing and collection measure, not the share of physical electricity lost and not hours of supply.
  • Table 18 reports 7,324,079 metered customers; the executive summary on printed page 9 instead says 7,324,097. This page uses Table 18, whose company rows reconcile to its total.
  • From Q1 2026 the allowed tariff in billing-efficiency calculations includes VAT; this affects comparison with Q4 2025 (printed page 33, footnote 17).
  • Active customers were rebased in April 2025: customers billed or vending at least once in a twelve-month period (printed page 58, footnote 29).